Local Museums

Blackwells Mills Canal House Museum
Canal House is a picturesque old home of honest masonry and stone, bordering the historic Delaware and Raritan Canal at Blackwells Mills Canal in Franklin Township.
Built in the 1830s (as was the canal), it was home for generations of bridge tenders, whose job it was to open the swing bridge when canal boats came through. It serves today as a museum and library of canal history.

Hours: Usually open the 2nd Saturday, 10am - 4pm, & 2nd Sunday, 12-4pm, of each month. Call ahead to confirm hours.
(732) 257-4557 | Blackwells Mills Rd & Canal Rd, 598 Canal Rd, Somerset, NJ

Brick Academy Museum
Photographs, genealogical records, rare local books, articles and other materials. Operated by the Historical Society of the Somerset Hills. For research and questions:
Hours: Open the first and third Wednesdays of each month, 9:30 a.m. - noon, or by appointment. Museum: Open Sundays 2 - 4 p.m., except summer and holidays.
(908) 221-1770
| 15 West Oak St., Basking Ridge (Bernards Twp.), NJ

Firemen's Museum
Collection of historic fire-fighting equipment and memorabilia.
Hours: Open June to November.
(908) 757-5720 | Somerset St., North Plainfield, NJ

Fleetwood Camera Museum
Tours/lectures for groups, traveling displays for libraries. Located in the Vermeule Mansion.
(908) 756-7810 | 614 Greenbrook Rd. & Clinton Ave., North Plainfield, NJ

Military Museum
Veterans Administration Medical Center, Valley Rd., Lyons (Bernards Twp.).
Hours: Wed. 11 a.m. - 2 p.m. or by appointment.
908-647-0180 x4218

Raritan Valley Community College Art Gallery
Monthly exhibits Sept.-May.
Hours: Mon. 3-8pm, Tues. & Thurs. 12-3pm, Wed. 1-8pm
www.raritanval.edu
(908) 526-1200 x8373 | Rt. 28 & Lamington Rd., North Branch, NJ

Somerville Fire Museum
Showcases antique fire-fighting equipment and numerous pictures and citations showing the evolution of the Somerville Fire Department.
Hours: Open Saturday 10am - noon or by appointment.
www.somervillefd.com/museum.htm
(908) 526-7098 | 15 North Doughty Ave., Somerville, NJ

Ukrainian Orthodox Library & Museum
Museum has displays of decorative Easter eggs, lacework and hand embroidery, statuary, church vessels and many other Ukrainian cultural and historical treasures. Library has theological and historical books in English and Ukrainian.
Library hours: Mon. - Fri., 9am - 5pm (closed weekends).
Museum hours: by appointment.
www.uocofusa.org
135 Davidson Ave., Somerset (Franklin), NJ | 732-356-0090 x20